About KanREN

More Than Just the Internet

KanREN At a Glance

  • Registered 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization
  • Self-funded – No on-going state or federal funds
  • Full financial disclosure to members
  • Governed by members
  • Facilitate group purchases, increasing vendor discounts
  • Founded in 1992, before “the Internet” as we know it existed
  • Consistently leading the nation in technology and capabilities
  • Lawrence, KS small business – member funds stay in Kansas

KanREN is an experienced, forward- thinking, member based consortium offering custom, world-class network services, innovations and support for researchers, educators, and public service institutions in the state of Kansas who require a direct, dedicated, high-capacity infrastructure when performance is imperative to success.

KanREN serves the StateNet role in the 3-tiered model for education and research entities. The 3-tiered model has been proven a cost effective, efficient and scalable solution for meeting the unique connectivity needs of education and research.


KanREN’s Mission, Vision & Values

Our Mission
KanREN provides network and related services tailored to meet the needs of research, education and other community anchor institutions in Kansas. KanREN empowers members to collaborate and advance their own missions through KanREN’s consortium-based organization and technical capabilities.

Our Vision
KanREN will be the organization through which community anchor institutions connect, collaborate, and share resources to realize the full potential of a robust statewide network. KanREN will be a trusted partner; providing services and advocacy that meet member, community and statewide needs.

Our Values
Together, as a consortium, KanREN and its members leverage infrastructure and partnerships, reducing costs and improving services.


KanREN Consortium Members

View our consortium member categories by opening each accordion.

Anchor Institutions

  • Emporia State University
  • Fort Hays Sate University
  • Johnson County Community College
  • Kansas Board of Regents
  • Kansas State University
  • Pittsburg Sate University
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Kansas Medical Center
  • Washburn University
  • Wichita State University
  • Private Colleges and Universities

  • Baker University
  • Central Christian College
  • Hesston College
  • McPherson College
  • MidAmerica Nazarene University
  • Tabor College
  • Community and Technical Colleges

  • Allen County Community College
  • Barton County Community College
  • Butler Community College
  • Cloud County Community College
  • Colby Community College
  • Cowley Community College
  • Dodge City Community College
  • Fort Scott Community College
  • Garden City Community College
  • Highland Community College
  • Hutchinson Community College
  • Johnson County Community College
  • Neosho County Community College
  • Pratt Community College
  • Salina Area Technical College
  • Seward County Community College
  • Unified School Districts

  • USD 454 Burlingame
  • USD 288 Central Heights
  • USD 462 Central
  • USD 473 Chapman
  • USD 492 Flinthills
  • USD 484 Fredonia
  • USD 249 Frontenac
  • Kansas School for the Deaf and the Blind
  • USD 608 Keystone Learning Services
  • USD 456 Marais Des Cygnes Valley
  • USD 342 McLouth
  • USD 341 Oskaloosa
  • USD 343 Perry-Lecompton
  • USD 250 Pittsburg
  • USD 362 Prairie View
  • USD 114 Riverside
  • USD 372 Silver Lake
  • USD 620 Three Lakes Educational Cooperative
  • USD 429 Troy
  • USD 234 Fort Scott
  • USD 436 Caney Valley
  • USD 628 South Central Kansas Distance Learning Network
  • USD 289 Wellsville
  • USD 287 West Franklin
  • Libraries

  • Kansas City Kansas Public Library
  • Lawrence Public Library
  • Linn County Library – District #2
  • Olathe Public Library
  • State Library of Kansas
  • Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library
  • Other Community Anchor Institutions

  • Bioscience & Technology Business Center
  • Hays Medical Center
  • Health Partnership Clinic of Johnson County
  • Kansas Association of Elementary School Principals (KAESP)
  • Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals (KASSP)
  • Kansas Corporation Commission
  • Kansas Independent College Association
  • Kansas Legislature Legislative Office of Information Services
  • Kansas National Education Association
  • Kansas Office of Information Technology Services
  • Lawrence Memorial Hospital
  • Learning Forward Kansas
  • Mount Saint Scholastica
  • Olathe Medical Center
  • Pioneer Health Network
  • United School Administrators of Kansas
  • University of Kansas Endowment Association
  • Local & County Governments

  • Bourbon County
  • City of Lawrence
  • City of Olathe
  • City of Ottawa
  • City of Pittsburg
  • Douglas County
  • Johnson County Government